Happiness

Happiness

Sometimes the tedium of daily life can overwhelm us and plunge us into depression. We feel like the proverbial hamster on a wheel. Is this what I really want to do with my life? Is this fulfilling? Is it all meaningless? Or perhaps we are struck by tragedy. A loved one may die, and we feel as if the world becomes a “sterile promontory.” But then an incident occurs which reminds us of the happiness and joy which we can experience in life.

“All you need is love” is more than just a great Beatles song. In your darkest moments, if you think about those you love and those who love you, then you can endure anything. That indefinable emotion, Love, is the key to happiness.

21 thoughts on “Happiness

  1. I love this and it’s so true. A lot of people choose not to learn these lessons, and stay stuck in fear and the “why me?” mentality. The human condition is cushioned by love, and is our greatest tool and weapon 🙂 wise words indeed, I will be reading more of your posts!

  2. Great post, it’s too easy to sink into self-pity and feel miserable. If we’re lucky enough to have people around us that love us, then we should be grateful and appreciate it. There’s enough people in the world who have lost people they love to remind us how lucky we are!

  3. Love with all “self” is not love at all. It is when we separate love from suffering that it loses it’s taste. Love apart from suffering is tasteless. The True Love is that one revealed by God — Himself — by willfully becoming finite, taking on our human nature and dying in the Cross, He gave up his life for us human being have life to the fullest and obtain that Joy (God Himself) that no one can ever remove from us.

  4. Agreed. The importance of love is a recurring theme is the movies I review on my site. Just search for “love” and variations of what you blogged above is found in many movies. One of the most powerful is, I think surprisingly, from Punch-Drunk Love (2002) with Adam Sandler:

    Life Lesson:
    Everyone needs someone to love who will love them back.

    Movie Scene:
    Barry: “I have so much strength in me. You have no idea. I have a love in my life. It makes me stronger than anything you can imagine.”

  5. My God.
    That was short.
    And damn punchy! You made me think of my father. He always said he hated rock and roll.
    Poor dad had a stroke and would not stop saying, with tears,

    “Oh God, I LOVE the song Hey Jude.”

    Live love & prosper my friend!

  6. In my loneliness times I have had to dig deep and connect with something greater than myself to find that love. I believe we are all connected, all one but is work to love oneself- just the way you are 🙂

  7. Very, very true. Now if you don’t mind me adding a little nonsense to this comment, here’s something I was reminded by the reading of your posts (true story):

    In a bookstore, a man is browsing the books. He looks at the Shakespeare section and says to the lady at the counter, “Shakespeare, Shakespeare. Everywhere I go I see his books, how annoying!”
    “Oh, you dislike Shakespeare, then?” The lady asks.
    “Yes, I hate him! I wish he would do us all a favour and just die!”

  8. Great post. Happiness, to me, is acceptance and appreciation of what you have and more importantly, who you have. Loving others, putting aside your fear and doubt, may be the only true road to happiness as far as I’m concerned and even then the road is often rough and frightening. But if you can find the strength to love, then despite the pain, you may end up finding yourself smiling despite everything.

Leave a Reply

